top of page
Student Placement Experience Blog

Clinical placement can be a daunting time for all healthcare professionals. This blog is intended to help reduce this anxiety by allowing students to share their experiences and advice. All posts are written by current or previous Physiotherapy students. Please respect their honesty and use this resource to relate to, reassure and learn from each others experiences.

Would you like to write a post for our blog? Get in touch with your ideas

Search

The first placement

As a Physiotherapy student starting my very first placement I felt nervous, anxious and uneasy about the experience.


When I arrived on my first day I knew no one and I would have been great to have seen a familiar face. I met my educator who seemed very nice although I was very aware that they would be marking me over the next 5 weeks.


While working in the team my confidence grew and with it my ability to communicate with the rest of the team. I found the therapy assistants became my go to people, maybe because I felt I could relate to them more although they were a lot more experienced than me!


When it comes to the marking criteria always make sure you have some goals in mind, you will be asked. I found it difficult to know what I wanted to achieve as I did not know what the opportunities avaliable were!? who knew I would see surgery!


I would advise you to keep a diary on placement as you soon forget how far you have come and when you look back you will be proud. If you feel able to then share this with your educator as it shows them more about you and what you have been doing. I found showing the learning I was doing in my own time difficult (I did lots! - but did not show this enough to get full credit for it)


I hope you enjoy your placements as much as I have, but the main thing is to grow as a person and clinician.

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Approaching Your Educator

Placement has been the most interesting part of the course for me, with real life experience and the ability to look back and reflect on...

Avoiding 'Burnout' On Placement

I’ve made it! I’m now a physiotherapist and I still feel like pinching myself every time I put my badge on. Placements are probably the...

Completing Lives

My final placement was working on the Neurosurgery ward, an extremely interesting ward predominantly consisting of spinal cord injury and...

Comments


bottom of page