top of page
Student Placement Experience Blog

Clinical placement can be a daunting time for all healthcare professionals. This blog is intended to help reduce this anxiety by allowing students to share their experiences and advice. All posts are written by current or previous Physiotherapy students. Please respect their honesty and use this resource to relate to, reassure and learn from each others experiences.

Would you like to write a post for our blog? Get in touch with your ideas

Search

Managing The Marking Criteria

I am a 3rd year student currently in middle of my 3rd placement. I’ve had two ward based placements and a community based one and covered areas such as acute respiratory, acute neuro and elderly- a good a variety so far! My biggest worries before any placement are: will I get along with my educator and how much information will I be expected to know. With regards the information; I’ve found that your educators are generally aware that you have no experience in this area and therefore they don’t expect you to know how to treat these symptoms of a pathology you’ve only ever had one lecture on so don’t panic. Do contact them in advance and ask what information you should refresh your knowledge on- or maybe read for the first time- it means you’ll know what to they are expecting of you and also shows that you’re already showing initiative.


As far as getting along with your educator, I have been incredibly lucky that I’ve had really good experiences with mine so far, something that might be over looked. I feel we get so preoccupied with ticking all the boxes on the marking criteria that we forget that you have to spend 6 weeks with them and the MDT so you might as well develop some sort of rapport. Yes they are grading you, but they’re also people so find the balance between keeping it professional and getting to know them. (You will know pretty soon whether they want you to know what they did do on their time off or whether they only want to discuss the reflection you wrote or the study you read, so gauge your conversations from there). No you’re not being marked on whether or not the members of the MDT would see you as a potential friend but I personally find that 6 weeks go a lot faster when you feel comfortable to sit and have a chat with them than not. Please don’t let this panic you, I am aware that the reality is that personalities can clash and not everyone is going to have similar experiences to mine. I’m simply saying its worth making the effort for!


Once you’ve started (or probably beforehand) and established what your educator expects of you, do look at the marking criteria to find out what the course expects of you! The best advice I have received was from my first educator which was to “play the game”.. it might sound strange but what he meant was if having the ability to “self-evaluate” or demonstrate “self-directed learning” is what you will be marked on then do those reflections, bring in that paper you read. It shows that you’re actually taking an interest in the placement and making the effort. It also means that when it comes to grading they can physically tick that box.


To follow on from that, another key component is using your initiative! I’m not saying to try taking on caseloads from day one, but do offer to perform the assessment (once your safe, competent and confident to do so), write up the notes, fetch the equipment, suggest an outcome measure that they may not usually use on that ward etc etc. Basically, be helpful and show enthusiasm and willingness to learn and participate rather than always being asked to do something.


There are probably a hundred more things to say but we could be here all day. So to summarise:


- Know the basics whether it be anatomy, pathology, blood gases etc. Second year lays the foundations that placement will build on but don’t stress you’re never going to know absolutely everything, that’s what you’re there to learn.


- Build rapports with your educator and the MDT, being friendly and making the effort goes a long way. - Know what’s expected of you from both the marking criteria and from your educators point of view. If they don’t make it clear- ask. It’s better to know exactly what they want rather than find out at half way or when you’re getting your final mark.


- Embrace the experience. By the time you’re on placement second year modules are behind you (btw the horror stories are a slight exaggeration and it’s not as bad as it seems when you look back).


Be confident in your abilities, you have done the work, you’ve got this far, so there’s no reason why you won’t have a great placement.


If you do feel a bit nervous, remember every physio out there was in this position once.

Be safe and enjoy it!

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The first placement

As a Physiotherapy student starting my very first placement I felt nervous, anxious and uneasy about the experience. When I arrived on my...

Approaching Your Educator

Placement has been the most interesting part of the course for me, with real life experience and the ability to look back and reflect on...

Avoiding 'Burnout' On Placement

I’ve made it! I’m now a physiotherapist and I still feel like pinching myself every time I put my badge on. Placements are probably the...

Comments


bottom of page